The College of Fine Arts is dedicated to giving to each individual student the instruction and guidance needed to realize his or her full artistic and intellectual potential, and provide each student with ongoing opportunities for performance and exhibition, as well as personal attention.

The College is comprised of three divisions:

  • Division of Visual Arts
  • Division of Music
  • Division of Theatre and Dance


  • The Phillips Fine Arts Building is a “modern”, acoustically designed structure which houses a gallery/recital hall, the C.A.V.E. (Center for Animation and Virtual Environments) digital animation and design studio, an electronic music and recording studio, digital piano/computer laboratory, practice rooms, studios, classrooms, rehearsal rooms, the Alexander Brest Museum, musical instruments and equipment for the Department of Music.
  • Terry Concert Hall, seating 402 persons, is the venue for concerts and recitals.
  • The choral program rehearses in Sam Marks Chapel.
  • Swisher Theater, seating 400 persons, is a state of the art venue for plays, musicals and dance productions. 
  • Alternative performances are held in the studio black box theater and the Alexander Brest Dance Studios.
  • Active chapters of Pi Kappa Lambda National Honor Society in Music, MUS Phi Epsilon, and the Collegiate Music Educators National Conference have been established on campus.
  • Numerous ensembles with regular rehearsals and performances provide experience for all JU students.​